Skip to content
May 7, 2011 / aasdel

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure

It’s funny how in North America we take space for granted. We are so used to having big cars, big houses, large streets… Weekly chores, like rubbish clearance, seem to be a very challenging exercise when confronted with narrow streets. I just couldn’t imagine an other way to collect waste than the way I used to see it back home. I was truly wondering how it was taken care of here.

When I heard the clinking of bottles and the rustling of plastic bags bouncing of each other, I was surprised that it was the only thing I was hearing. No squealing brakes, no crushing noises, no loud truck engine. On the contrary, it was very peaceful. And, if you’ve never lived in Montreal, well, there is nothing peaceful about waste collection day over there, let me tell you!

So there they were; three men, strolling down the street, each armed with two big bins, emptying every garbage and recycling cans on their way. I don’t know what happened when their bins were full nor where they emptied them, but what I saw made sense! I sure never thought that this is how a big city like London would take care of its excess! Very surprising, yet so smart!

I’m also very excited to start composting, since the city is also collecting food wastes, something Montreal doesn’t offer, yet. We’ll see how I’ll manage this.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Yasmine / May 12 2011 2:35 pm

    Sérieux ?!
    C’est super intéressant…tu devrais les suivre et voir ce qu’il font pour vider leurs bacs…et ensuite faire un follow up à ton article.

  2. aasdel / May 15 2011 3:03 pm

    Je tenterai le coup la prochaine fois 😉

Leave a Reply

